Ask Yoast:

Adding testimonials to your site

Would you buy a product or service from a website that doesn’t look trustworthy? Probably not. So you understand how important it is to gain the trust of your visitors if you own a business. Adding testimonials to your site can help you with this. They give potential customers some idea of the experiences of others, and why whatever it is you’re offering them is so awesome. If you have some nice testimonials on your site, of course, you want to make sure people can find them. So, what’s the best way to do that?

Ariette emailed us a question on this subject:

I have 30+ testimonials on my site and all of them are in separate posts. These testimonials don’t have content other than a few kind words from clients. Can I just add keywords like ‘realtor testimonial’ or ‘realtor review’ to every post?

Watch the video or read the transcript for the answer!

The best way to use testimonials on your site

“These testimonials are testimonials for something you’re selling, so you should add those testimonials to the pages that you’re selling those products on. Don’t have them on separate pages, but show them on the pages where you’re selling that individual product and then show a couple. Make them show a picture, make sure that they look genuine and real, but add them next to the product that you’re selling.

Having separate pages for reviews is hardly ever a good idea unless they are reviews of books or something like that, where the review itself is a read-worthy piece. But don’t add reviews as a single post type on your site. It just doesn’t make any sense.

Good luck!”

Read more: Testimonials: increase your visitor’s trust »

Ask Yoast series


13 Responses to Adding testimonials to your site

  1. Datafilehost
    Datafilehost  • 2 years ago

    Please does this really count if i operate just a minimal blog?

  2. Salvatore
    Salvatore  • 2 years ago

    In my site I have just begun to include the testimonials. The visitor can see what services have been enjoyed by previous customers.

  3. balu
    balu  • 2 years ago

    Can you please add more content about testimonials.

  4. Mike
    Mike  • 2 years ago

    Thank you so much, love your blog and plugin. How about for nonprofits? Would a page of beneficiary stories (testimonials) and placing statements in applicable areas work? How about replicating site content in different areas, is this a problem? We are building a new site now, on WordPress.

    • Melina Reintjens
      Melina Reintjens  • 2 years ago

      Hey Mike, that’s lovely to hear!
      SEO for non-profits is, in many ways hardly any different from for-profit SEO. If you have some nice beneficiary stories, you can definitely add them! However, don’t add them on a seperate page (like Joost says in the video ;-) ) unless they are read-worthy pieces on their own. We have a nice post on SEO for non-profits, you can check it out: https://yoast.com/seo-non-profits/
      As for replicating your site’s content: you’ll want to avoid that, because you don’t want to end up competing with your own content. Read more about that here: https://yoast.com/duplicate-content/

  5. Himal Ghale
    Himal Ghale  • 2 years ago

    thank you so much Yoast Team for so nice useful article, it is very good information in the article, I am just using WordPress site, and it help me so much,
    thank you
    Himal Ghale from Nepal

  6. Bojan Krstic
    Bojan Krstic  • 2 years ago

    Dear Joost,
    What do you think, is ok to use the comments from the Facebook page as a testimonial? Or is better to use a testimonial from the “book of impressions”?

    Thank you,
    Bojan

  7. Abdul
    Abdul  • 2 years ago

    Is it good to add testimonials to blog?

  8. LoveUMarketing
    LoveUMarketing  • 2 years ago

    Rightly said. Testimonials are very important to the success of any website.
    Further, as you said in the last para I have one SEO related Questions.
    For my curiosity, I want to know whether the option like Bold, Italic and Underline have any impact on the SEO. If I use bold option for my keywords then will google understand it as important?

    • Melina Reintjens
      Melina Reintjens  • 2 years ago

      Hi! That’s a good question! It may be a tiny bit beneficial, however, there are better ways to improve your SEO. If your content is bad on all other aspects, making your keywords bold isn’t going to make up for it. Just remember: you write for your visitors and not for Google :-)

  9. nexvan
    nexvan  • 2 years ago

    Yoast SEO plugin is not able to show your site to Ryte.
    Guide me
    Will Google drop down when you disable it?

  10. VD
    VD  • 2 years ago

    Hi Joost,

    Love your plugin (use it for all my sites) and your blog of course. Do you recommend any good testimonial plugins?

    Thanks,

    VD

  11. Farhan Majid
    Farhan Majid  • 2 years ago

    Absolutely agree. Btw i love these Yoast Vlogs. They make me remind of Matt Cutts answering those queries.


Check out our must read articles about User eXperience (UX)

  • Accessibility matters »

    Does accessibility matter? We think so! Facts that show that you should take accessibility into account when developing sites and software.

  • Button UX design »

    What does an awesome button look like? Should you use flat buttons, ghost buttons, one-state buttons? In this post we share our opinion on button UX. 

  • Where SEO and UX meet on your site »

    SEO and UX have a lot in common. They serve the same goal: to optimize the experience for either a search engine or your visitors. Here are some examples!

  • What is UX (and why bother)? »

    The importance of user experience for SEO continues to increase. But what is UX? And how does it affect SEO? User experience is all about offering your visitors a memorable experience. If people enjoy your site, they come back and tell their friends. Learn more about UX in this post on SEO for beginners!