Ask Yoast: adding testimonials

Ask Yoast
adding testimonials to your site

Ask Yoast: adding testimonials to your site

November 10th, 2017 – 13 Comments

Would you buy a product or service from a website that doesn’t look trustworthy? Probably not. So you understand how important it is to gain the trust of your visitors if you own a business. Adding testimonials to your site can help you with this. They give potential customers some idea of the experiences of others, and why whatever it is you’re offering them is so awesome. If you have some nice testimonials on your site, of course, you want to make sure people can find them. So, what’s the best way to do that?

Optimize your site for search & social media and keep it optimized with Yoast SEO Premium »

Yoast SEO: the #1 WordPress SEO plugin Info

Ariette emailed us a question on this subject:

I have 30+ testimonials on my site and all of them are in separate posts. These testimonials don’t have content other than a few kind words from clients. Can I just add keywords like ‘realtor testimonial’ or ‘realtor review’ to every post?

Watch the video or read the transcript further down the page for my answer!

The best way to use testimonials on your site

“These testimonials are testimonials for something you’re selling, so you should add those testimonials to the pages that you’re selling those products on. Don’t have them on separate pages, but show them on the pages where you’re selling that individual product and then show a couple. Make them show a picture, make sure that they look genuine and real, but add them next to the product that you’re selling.

Having separate pages for reviews is hardly ever a good idea, unless they are reviews of books or something like that, where the review itself is a read-worthy piece. But don’t add reviews as a single post type on your site. It just doesn’t make any sense.

Good luck!”

Ask Yoast

In the series Ask Yoast we answer SEO questions from our readers. Have an SEO-related question? Let us help you out! Send an email to ask@yoast.com.
(note: please check our blog and knowledge base first, the answer to your question may already be out there! For urgent questions, for example about our plugin not working properly, we’d like to refer you to our support page.)

Read more: ‘Testimonials: increase your visitor’s trust’ »


13 Responses to Ask Yoast: adding testimonials to your site

  1. Datafilehost
    By Datafilehost on 21 November, 2017

    Please does this really count if i operate just a minimal blog?

  2. Salvatore
    By Salvatore on 13 November, 2017

    In my site I have just begun to include the testimonials. The visitor can see what services have been enjoyed by previous customers.

  3. balu
    By balu on 13 November, 2017

    Can you please add more content about testimonials.

  4. Mike
    By Mike on 13 November, 2017

    Thank you so much, love your blog and plugin. How about for nonprofits? Would a page of beneficiary stories (testimonials) and placing statements in applicable areas work? How about replicating site content in different areas, is this a problem? We are building a new site now, on WordPress.

    • Melina Reintjens
      By Melina Reintjens on 13 November, 2017

      Hey Mike, that’s lovely to hear!
      SEO for non-profits is, in many ways hardly any different from for-profit SEO. If you have some nice beneficiary stories, you can definitely add them! However, don’t add them on a seperate page (like Joost says in the video ;-) ) unless they are read-worthy pieces on their own. We have a nice post on SEO for non-profits, you can check it out: https://yoast.com/seo-non-profits/
      As for replicating your site’s content: you’ll want to avoid that, because you don’t want to end up competing with your own content. Read more about that here: https://yoast.com/duplicate-content/

  5. Himal Ghale
    By Himal Ghale on 13 November, 2017

    thank you so much Yoast Team for so nice useful article, it is very good information in the article, I am just using WordPress site, and it help me so much,
    thank you
    Himal Ghale from Nepal

  6. Bojan Krstic
    By Bojan Krstic on 13 November, 2017

    Dear Joost,
    What do you think, is ok to use the comments from the Facebook page as a testimonial? Or is better to use a testimonial from the “book of impressions”?

    Thank you,
    Bojan

  7. Abdul
    By Abdul on 12 November, 2017

    Is it good to add testimonials to blog?

  8. LoveUMarketing
    By LoveUMarketing on 12 November, 2017

    Rightly said. Testimonials are very important to the success of any website.
    Further, as you said in the last para I have one SEO related Questions.
    For my curiosity, I want to know whether the option like Bold, Italic and Underline have any impact on the SEO. If I use bold option for my keywords then will google understand it as important?

    • Melina Reintjens
      By Melina Reintjens on 13 November, 2017

      Hi! That’s a good question! It may be a tiny bit beneficial, however, there are better ways to improve your SEO. If your content is bad on all other aspects, making your keywords bold isn’t going to make up for it. Just remember: you write for your visitors and not for Google :-)

  9. nexvan
    By nexvan on 12 November, 2017

    Yoast SEO plugin is not able to show your site to Ryte.
    Guide me
    Will Google drop down when you disable it?

  10. VD
    By VD on 12 November, 2017

    Hi Joost,

    Love your plugin (use it for all my sites) and your blog of course. Do you recommend any good testimonial plugins?

    Thanks,

    VD

  11. Farhan Majid
    By Farhan Majid on 11 November, 2017

    Absolutely agree. Btw i love these Yoast Vlogs. They make me remind of Matt Cutts answering those queries.


Check out our must read articles about User eXperience (UX)