24-hr offer! $50 discount on our Content SEO training bundle! Get it TODAY!
Ask Yoast:

Can I cancel a 301 or 410 redirect?

After creating a redirect, at some point, it might happen that you want to use the exact URL of that post or page again. Or perhaps you decide that you’d like to cancel that redirect after some time. Maybe redirecting that post or page was a mistake, or the post or page contains valuable content again.

In this case, you’ll probably ask yourself: is it possible to use this URL again? Even though I created a redirect for it? Let’s discuss if that’s possible and how to make sure Google finds your page again!

But first: did you know the Yoast SEO redirect manager makes it super easy to create redirects, and cancel them, if the need should arrive. Save yourself a lot of time and trouble and get Yoast SEO premium!

Ahmed M Hassan sent us his question:

“If I want to use a link that had been 301 or 410 redirected before, can I cancel the redirection and use it again?”

Check out the video or read the answer below!

Can I cancel redirects?

“Yes, you can. What I would do, when canceling a redirect, is a Fetch and Render from Google Search Console to that URL and then submit to index, so Google knows that that URL now has content again.

Otherwise, it can take months or even years for Google to come back to that URL because it assumes you’ve redirected or deleted it. So use Fetch and Render for that and get those old URLs back in if you really need to.

If you need to do this a lot, you should think about your redirection strategy and whether you’re redirecting too quickly, though.

Good luck!”

Example of Fetch and Render in Google Search Console:

search_console_-_fetch_as_google_-_https___yoast_com_

Read more: The beginner’s guide to Google Search Console »

Ask Yoast series


3 Responses to Can I cancel a 301 or 410 redirect?

  1. mchang
    mchang  • 2 years ago

    Your articles are always so helpful! I have a quick question tho, will deleting a webpage harm your website SEO? Thank you!

    • MMOByte
      MMOByte  • 2 years ago

      Not if you redirect (through 301 of course) the link to another webpage. Simply deleting the page itself will, naturally.

  2. Sandro
    Sandro  • 2 years ago

    The constant updates in google rules complicate SEO work a lot. But we have learned a lot here.


Check out our must read articles about Technical SEO

  • WordPress SEO: the definitive guide »

    This is the ONLY tutorial you'll need to hugely increase your search engine traffic by improving your WordPress SEO. Want higher rankings? Read on!

  • rel=canonical: the ultimate guide »

    The canonical URL allows you to tell search engines that certain similar URLs are actually one and the same. Learn how to use rel=canonical!

  • hreflang: the ultimate guide »

    This guide discusses what hreflang is, what it is for and gives in-depth information on how to implement it for your multilingual websites.

  • The ultimate guide to robots.txt »

    The robots.txt file is a file you can use to tell search engines where they can and cannot go on your site. Learn how to use it to your advantage!