The Power of Our Reviews

We’ve been doing our Website Reviews for quite some time now, and recently we’ve also added the Conversion Review to that list. There are some of you, the very loyal ones, who we’ve had the pleasure of helping in both these areas.

Today I’m highlighting one of our very loyal customers (he has far more of our products than just the reviews) that has benefited maximally from these reviews. Let me demonstrate how having our reviews done has helped him.

The Website Review

It all started when our friends over at Bully Max ordered a website review from us in June 2013. Their website homepage looked something like this (this is a screenshot directly from our review):

Bully Max Dog Supplements Pitbull Food Dog Vitamins 710 7

So we did a Website Review for them. Their website had a slider, which we disliked then as much as we do now. As with a lot of the websites we review, no matter which type of review, we noticed their website lacked focus. There was simply too much going on.

On top of that, as with just about every webshop we’ve ever seen, the product descriptions were duplicate. If you own a webshop and you’re selling products that others are selling as well, here’s an invaluable tip: write your own content! No matter how awesome your website is, you just won’t rank for your product descriptions if there are 500 other webshops with an exact copy of it.

As I bet some of you know, we were unforgiving in our review. We ended up with a report of almost 6000 words of critique. And Bully Max was ecstatic. They simply understood the value of all that we had to say and got to work.

The results in ranking

At the moment, Bully Max is still working hard to improve their website and have told us multiple times they’re using our reviews almost on a daily basis. So, to us, the results they’re seeing isn’t much of a surprise. But that doesn’t mean it doesn’t make us proud. I mean, just look at it:

The traffic on their website has almost tripled since June 2013!

This is the result of hard work on the side of Bully Max. And the willingness to take on our advice and believing what we had to say.

Buy one of our Website Reviews »

The Conversion Review

Last December, we held a trial among our website review customers with the Conversion Review. That way, we could perfect our product before making it available to the masses.

Literally within 10 minutes of sending the mail, Bully Max replied that they wanted to buy the Conversion Review. They were very eager to try out this new product. We were happy to have such enthusiastic and hard-working customers as our first Conversion Review.

Here’s what their website looked like then:

power of our reviews

As you can see, there’s a lot more content on there. They had really worked hard, and we noticed. However, there were still some flaws (as there always are and will be in any website).

Their main conversion issue, which was most probably costing them sales, was their website’s responsiveness. Their website was atrocious on a mobile phone and just didn’t work at all. And that’s a big flaw, if you consider the fact that almost 50% of their traffic came from mobile!

This is something we see a lot of. Websites that are just not optimized for mobile users. This is seriously silly, because the mobile market will only grow. So ignore this at your own peril!

As I said, BullyMax is still busy with their website, as well they should be. But at the moment of writing this review, this is what their website looks like now:

Bully Max | Muscle Building Supplements for Dogs 2014-03-14 15-55-43 2014-03-14 15-55-48

The results in sales

Of course we won’t be publishing any hard numbers, but we do have approval to show you some nice percentages. Let me show you why BullyMax is so happy to have met us:

ecommerce_overview_-_google_analytics_2014-03-11_11-31-49_2014-03-11_11-31-52 2014-03-14 15-40-06 2014-03-14 15-42-58

These are the increases and decreases in percentages. I’m already hearing you say: “but the average order value went down!”. Yes, it did. And that’s the only thing that went down, and not even significantly so. For the non-believers out there: the sales weren’t low to begin with, so these percentages really do mean something.

Buy one of our Conversion Reviews »

The conclusion

“As you can see your reviews have paid off big-time for us. Your reviews continue to inspire us daily at Bully Max. Also, your blog is now what I consider written by the dream team of SEO and internet marketing. You guys have sure put together a great team of which we read every chance we can. Sometimes I see a new awesome educating article and have to email it to Matt.”
Todd Jirecek, Director of SEO, Bully Max Inc.
As I’ve shown you in this post, both our Website Review and our Conversion Review can have a major impact on your business. If you combine the two there’s no telling what the effect can be! But it doesn’t just happen like that. You have to work really hard at it.

These reviews will do nothing for you if you’re not willing to sit down and get cracking on your website.

And please, I beg of you, don’t make the mistake of thinking that SEO, or Conversion Rate Optimization, is a ‘trick’. There are no settings you need to tick or untick to make your website rank or sell better. It requires genuine work. And the payoff will taste all the sweeter for it, so go optimize!

What do you think? Are you ready to optimize?

Check out our WordPress SEO Premium plugin

11 Responses

  1. satishBy satish on 14 March, 2014

    Several factors that are not in our control affect Rankings, for eeample a small Google update can double or triple traffic, and the month of the year.

    How can you be sure that those changes are direct result of your review?

  2. OliverBy Oliver on 14 March, 2014

    Poor Dogs. Great results but i’m sorry for them that they have such dumb owners.

  3. Meg CookBy Meg Cook on 15 March, 2014

    Great to see the actual stats on this and how much the review helped!

  4. Damien CarterBy Damien Carter on 17 March, 2014

    I think from the way there site has changed and there website conversion rates are up its obvious that the review has helped no end.

    To dis believers think of it this way if the review didnt help bully max wouldnt have come back for a second time not only that they would have asked for a refund.

  5. BodyGlowBy BodyGlow on 17 March, 2014

    Yet another great article, Thijs de Valk! Always a pleasure reading about the power of reviews.

    It’s pretty amazing what you can acomplishe with pure conversation rate optimization on a website.

    Have a nice day (:

  6. Nakamura AgathaBy Nakamura Agatha on 17 March, 2014

    Great Review, Thanks for Inspiration

  7. Mavis FlixarBy Mavis Flixar on 20 March, 2014

    CRO (Conversion Rate Optimization) saved our campaign on Adwords. Conversion tracking involves placing a cookie on a user’s computer when he/she clicks on an ad. Then, if the user clicks on your ad and reaches one of your conversion pages, the user’s browser sends the cookie to a Google server, and a small conversion tracking image is displayed on your site. When such a match is made, Google records a successful conversion for you. Over a period of 6 weeks, Simon’s team at RDM lowered my CPA (cost-per-lead) by 27.6% simply through creative split-testing of new ad copy. It’s often overlooked but is still a very important part of the overall success of your PPC marketing with Adwords.

  8. Judit + Corina @ Wine Dine DailyBy Judit + Corina @ Wine Dine Daily on 26 March, 2014

    Nice to see how adjusting the site can change the statistics so much. We too have changed our site over the years (but still have a slider taking up a large portion of the site, albeit a supposedly faster one)
    Will read your article on sliders next :)
    Great job on the conversion!
    Cheers!
    J+C

  9. JeffBy Jeff on 26 March, 2014

    Cool ! Very interesting ;-)

  10. SudartoBy Sudarto on 27 March, 2014

    I am happy reading this article. It’s a great.

  11. ismail khouyaBy ismail khouya on 2 April, 2014

    I think from the way there site has changed and there website conversion rates are up its obvious that the review has helped no end.