Ask Yoast: Can I cancel a 301 or 410 redirect?

After creating a redirect, it might happen you’d like to use the URL of that post or page again. Or perhaps you decide that you’d like to cancel that redirect after some time. Reasons for this could be that redirecting that post or page was a mistake, or the post or page contains valuable content again.

In this case, you might ask yourself: is it possible to use this URL again, even though it has been redirected? I’ll explain whether that’s possible and what’s important to consider when doing so!

In this Ask Yoast we received a question from Ahmed M Hassan:

“If I want to use a link that had been 301 or 410 redirected before, can I cancel the redirection and use it again?”

Check out the video or read the answer below!

Can I cancel redirects?

“Yes, you can. What I would do, when canceling a redirect, is a Fetch and Render from Google Search Console to that URL and then submit to index, so Google knows that that URL now has content again.

Otherwise, it can take months or even years for Google to come back to that URL because it assumes you’ve redirected or deleted it. So use Fetch and Render for that and get those old URLs back in if you really need to.

If you need to do this a lot, you should think about your redirection strategy and whether you’re redirecting too quickly, though.

Good luck!”

Example of Fetch and Render in Google Search Console:
search_console_-_fetch_as_google_-_https___yoast_com_

Ask Yoast

In the series Ask Yoast we answer SEO questions from followers! Need help with SEO? Let us help you out! Send your question to ask@yoast.com.

Read more: Google Search Console: crawl »

Ask Yoast series


3 Responses to Ask Yoast: Can I cancel a 301 or 410 redirect?

  1. mchang
    mchang  • 2 years ago

    Your articles are always so helpful! I have a quick question tho, will deleting a webpage harm your website SEO? Thank you!

    • MMOByte
      MMOByte  • 2 years ago

      Not if you redirect (through 301 of course) the link to another webpage. Simply deleting the page itself will, naturally.

  2. Sandro
    Sandro  • 2 years ago

    The constant updates in google rules complicate SEO work a lot. But we have learned a lot here.


Check out our must read articles about Redirects