The big “Is it a Ranking Factor?!” webinar

It’s one of the most frequently asked questions in SEO: What factors into Google’s algorithm? What should I optimize to be able to rank? What should I do first, and what can wait? On Wednesday, June 26th, join Marieke van de Rakt, Joost de Valk, Jono Alderson and me, Jesse van de Hulsbeek, to settle the debate once and for all. We’ll discuss and show what matters most. And the answer might not be what you expect…

What am I going to watch?

The webinar will kick off with a quick-fire round of “Is it a Ranking Factor?!”, with Marieke and Joost telling you exactly what’s what. Then, you’ll get to enjoy a 10-minute rant by our very own Jono Alderson. Suffice it to say, he’s got an opinion on the matter. Then, we’ll cover some important factors in more detail in a round-table discussion. At the end of the show, we’ll do a live Q&A session which allows you to ask our panel of experts any questions you may have. Want to be sure your question is answered? Leave it in the comments and we’ll put it on the list!

How can I attend the webinar?

We’ll stream the webinar on YouTube, so it will be freely accessible to everyone. Visit https://yoa.st/rankingfactorshow to attend the stream. You can also subscribe to the Yoast channel on YouTube. Then, you’ll be notified when the stream starts. There will be no login or other requirements. Simply visit the page and enjoy! In the table below, you’ll see when the webinar starts for a number of common time zones.

Add the Ranking Factor webinar to your calendar!

(iCal event: click the link and download the ics file. Open the file, select your calendar and save the date. All the details (URL etc) are included in the event!).

PST (Pacific Time)11 AM
MT (Mountain Time)Noon
CT (Central Time)1 PM
ET (Eastern Time)2 PM
BST (British Summer Time)7 PM
CEST (Central European Summer Time)8 PM
IST (India Standard Time)11:30 PM
AET (Australia Eastern Time)6 AM (June 27th)

If you can’t make it and want to watch the webinar at a later time, no problem. It’ll be freely available on YouTube afterward. You can also read the Yoast webinar recap.

Even better SEO with Yoast SEO Premium!

  • Optimize your site for the right keywords for your users
  • Avoid dead links in your site
  • Get previews for sharing on Twitter and Facebook
  • Content quality and link suggestions as you write
More info

9 Responses to The big “Is it a Ranking Factor?!” webinar

  1. Jake Miller
    Jake Miller  • 6 months ago

    How about if I can’t watch will there be a recap?

  2. Uffe
    Uffe  • 6 months ago

    Hi,

    How bad is duplicate content on several subpages? And is there a good way to mitigate this if that is the case? for instance tell google to stop indexing from a certain section of a page?

    We use duplicate content for user retention purposes and if no way to mitigate this, would it be more beneficial to not have it in regards of ranking factors?

    Thanks!

  3. ian Clapham
    ian Clapham  • 6 months ago

    I know how to change URL on permalinks but on my WP website and I have had an on going problem with URL’S that come up with a number ” 2 ” even though I do not have anything that is the same title of a web page – I usually have change title to something not as good to get ride of the ” 2 ”

    Has any one got a away around this problem ?

    Thank you

    Regards

    Ian Clapham

  4. Paul Sherland
    Paul Sherland  • 6 months ago

    About 5 years ago I listened to an SXSW panel with Matt Cutts and Duane Forrester, chaired by Danny Sullivan. At that time, Matt admitted to more than 200 ranking factors and Duane (Bing) admitted to more than 1000. Since then, the increasing integration of AI, neural networks, machine learning, natural language processing, etc., has Google engineers admitting that they don’t know what all the ranking factors are. Most SEOs have an idea that the ranking algo is some sort of algebraic expression. It’s not. It’s stochastic. So given all this, how do you know what the ranking factors are? This is a friendly question guys, I love your products and love your company.

    • Jono Alderson
      Jono Alderson  • 6 months ago

      That is an excellent question, and something we’ll be addressing in depth!

  5. Kevin
    Kevin  • 6 months ago

    Hi,

    How do you rank for the name of your site? Tracking Sharks is the site name and the URL(.com). If you search Tracking Sharks, the site only ranks for the page tracking sharks>track sharks.

    Should I create a static home page or use the site name more often?

    Is creating the static page the only way to generate a Yoast meta description that Google will display?

    How do you control what pages Google chooses to displays under the main site name in the search results. Take a search for Yoast. It comes up as:
    Yoast
    Yoast SEO:the #1…; WordPress plugins
    Seo Blog; about us
    My Yoast; SEO Training

    Thank you!

  6. SEO Consultant
    SEO Consultant  • 6 months ago

    This is quite intriguing post on google optimization algorithm. Well every one has their own personal reviews and opinions. It would be fun joining the debate and listening their views and opinions. Thanks for the info.

  7. folkegm
    folkegm  • 6 months ago

    Latest Version 11.4 update has a problem. SEO check list is not working.
    Can you fix it? or reverse version?

    • Ben Vaassen
      Ben Vaassen  • 6 months ago

      Hi there,
      I’m sorry to hear our update caused you this much trouble. We haven’t received any other reports, so it sounds like it’s a plugin or theme conflict. If you have Premium, feel free to reach out to our support team! If not, disable plugins one by one to figure out what’s going wrong.