Enhanced Slack sharing

Slack is one of the most popular communication platforms for teams. Businesses and organizations all over the world use it for their internal communication. Because of that URLs from your site might be shared on Slack. Improving how those URLs look when they’re shared on Slack might increase the number of people that click on them. That’s why we’ve created Enhanced Slack sharing.

When you enable the Enhanced Slack sharing feature, Yoast SEO will output two sets of labels + values in each post’s meta data. This will improve the way a URL from your site looks when shared on Slack. Those labels and fields are “Written by” and the name of the author, and “Est. reading time” and the estimated reading time we’ve calculated for your article. If you have a post with a nice Facebook image and description, it’ll look something like this:

As you can see this enhances the snippet and increases the amount of room your article takes up in Slack. If you don’t want this, simply disable the feature and the Written by and Estimated reading time blocks will be gone.

Enhanced Slack sharing for products

If you run our WooCommerce SEO plugin, your products will look like this when shared on Slack:

Screenshot of a product shared on Slack with the new enhanced slack sharing from Yoast SEO.

How to enable or disable Enhanced Slack sharing?

By default Enhanced Slack sharing is enabled in Yoast SEO. If you don’t want the extra information to show up in Slack you can easily disable the feature:

  1. Find SEO in the left-hand menu of your WordPress admin

    Click on General in the menu that pops up and you’ll land on the Yoast SEO dashboard.

  2. Click on the Features tab

    In the Features tab you can turn many Yoast SEO features on and off:

  3. Move the toggle

    Scroll down until you see Enhanced Slack sharing and move the toggle to the right:toggle enhanced slack sharing