How to use the Rewrite & Republish feature in Yoast Duplicate Post

Keeping your content up to date and continuously monitoring its quality are crucial aspects of SEO. Of course, rewriting and updating your content is easier said than done, since it requires a lot of time and effort. We are aware of that, so we created a feature in Yoast Duplicate Post called Rewrite & Republish. The feature allows you to update a post or page in a single workflow. It’s a real time-saver, and it is good for SEO! 

In brief, with this feature, you can rewrite your post or page without taking it offline and then republish it immediately in just a few clicks. So, let’s take it step by step and explore how it works.

Using the Rewrite & Republish feature

In the example below, we show how you can rewrite and republish a post. However, the same steps apply to pages and other custom post types as well. Also, note that there are two ways to access the feature. In step 1, we explain how you can access it from the posts overview screen. Then, from step 2 onward, we show you how to access it from the post edit screen. Regardless of the method you choose, you will end up on the screen that lets you rewrite and publish your post.

  1. In the Post overview screen, hover the mouse over a post you have already published and select Rewrite & Republish.

    You will be in the post-editing screen, where you can immediately start rewriting the duplicated version of the post (If you use this method, you can jump straight to step 5 of this how-to guide). update content with the Yoast Rewrite & Republish tool

  2. Alternative to step 1: Open an existing post.

    You will be in the post editor. a screenshot of the post editing screen

  3. Hover the mouse over the Duplicate post menu item in the toolbar at the top of the screen.

    A menu opens. Note: If you can’t see the toolbar on the top of the screen, you might have enabled the Full-screen mode. To disable it, go to the three vertical dots in the far right corner of the screen, and click on them. Then, de-select the Full-screen mode option.
    The duplicate post menu item with the rewrite and republish feature

  4. Select the Rewrite & Republish menu item (shown in the image above).

    You will see a notification at the top of the screen. It is to inform you that the plugin duplicated the original post or page. You can then start rewriting the duplicated version immediately.
    a screenshot of the notification issued when using the rewrite and republish feature

  5. Make the necessary changes to the content.

    Pay special attention to the readability of your content, and check for outdated information. Ask yourself these questions: Is some of the content no longer relevant? Is there something incorrect? Can you re-write some sentences to make them sound better?
    In case you are struggling, our tips on how to rewrite your content may be helpful.

  6. When you are done editing, click the Republish button in the upper right corner of the screen.

    The plugin will merge the duplicated version (and the revision history) into the original post or page. In addition, the duplicated draft version will be automatically deleted and the original post or page will be updated.A screenshot of the republish button

  7. Optional: Save the changes and compare the old and the new version of the post.

    When you hit the Republish button, you will see some additional checks. One of them allows you to compare the old and the new versions of your post. Click on the button, and you will be taken to the revisions screen, where you’ll be able to see the changes you’ve made.

  8. Optional: Schedule the republishing of the post

    Another option that appears when you click the Republish button is the one that lets you schedule the republishing date and time. So, you won’t have to republish immediately. Instead you can choose the date and time that fits your needs. To select the republishing date, click on the Republish item. Then, the menu will expand, allowing you to select a time and date.

In summary, the Rewrite & Republish feature takes only a few steps to complete, yet, it can save you a ton of time. What is more, it makes sure you keep your content fresh! Want to learn more about why updating and maintaining your content is important? Then, you may find these articles interesting:

Get free SEO tips!