Yoast: Been saying this for years: The “New” SEO Secret Weapon http://t.co/TkpAVjpj via @copyblogger ReTweet Reply

Submit your website? My ass.

So I just got an email from "Paul" of http:// www. TrafficGeneratorSite.com/ (no linklove whatsoever there). He said he "really liked my website" and was "Wondering if you would like to post my site banner on your website - I pay 30% commision for life for the revenue you generate."

Now I'm not the guy who passes up a chance to earn money when it's a good one, so I clicked his link. The attention grabbing piece of junk text I saw there, was this:

Traffic Generator Site

Now Paul, if you'd taken the time to read my site, you'd know I don't give my readers that sort of crap. Best thing about it? The guy came to my blog, searching for [when did google crawl my site]. So, I should trust someone who can't figure that out, with getting my readers sites positioned in the search engines? I don't think so Paul.


Category: SEO
You can skip to the end and leave a response.

10 Responses to “Submit your website? My ass.

Nice ... Contact a highly respected SEO expert and offer him a Spammer web service ...

G Bomb That ... :)

My tracking of such emails and offerings is that they are spam mails trying to get email/contact info, provide lead gen for "site-optimizer" provider, or just out and out scams.

Here's a write-up I did of one that actually did a follow-on email.

I think these are also the same type of scam as the 'I buy websites and I am interested in buying yours'

The same trend is that they all imply they are familiar with your service when it's clear they are not, and thus my belief it's all a masquerade for unethical activities.

I love my clients but this is exactly the kind of crap they fall for constantly! I chuckle that this idiot couldn't tell the difference between someone of your caliber and someone who doesn't know better!

Too funny!

LOL. Nice form of promotion. The sad thing is, this guy will get quite a few signups. It will be the same people who believe what they see on TV.

I think it is sad that there are still so many sites like this online. If you're a beginner in this field you'll have a hard time figuring out what will be worth your time and money. Often you go for the cheaper (crap) solution and possibly give up because you feel like you're just wasting money (well... I guess you are if you buy these crappy solutions).

700.000 search engines? Seven Hundred Thousand?

I don't know how many search engines you use every day, but I don't care if I'm not indexed by those 699.990 search engines I don't know of, all that matters is Google and a few others. I don't want to pay for inclusion in search engines that aren't capable of finding my websites by themselves!

The fact that there are people using services like this wouldn't surprise me. There will always be people who prefer to use easy (but stupid) ways to gain more traffic. I agree with Joost that this guy must be very tenacious (or shortsighted) to try and get his banners up respected websites like this blog.

waaa gratz promotion....hehehehe

I don't really understand everything you said in your post. But my gut instinct would tell me to stay away from this guy. And it would have done the same thing a year ago when I didn't know the difference between a theme and a plugin. This is the same kind of stuff you hear on SAT radio and television late at night. So don't sell us short. We may not be able to explain it but we feel it baby.

lafsar is your gateway to the best sites on the internet
http://www.lafsar.com

The funny thing is that he has no Google PR and his Alexa is over 1.1 million! Just for the fun of it I compared Yoast.com with his site on compete.com. For the month of October it shows Yost.com with 190,663 unique visitors and he had a whooping 557. Wow, he probably gives religious advice to the Pope in his spare time.

Comments closed, if you feel you have something to say:
drop me a line.